top of page

Morning thoughts

One morning as I opened the curtains, I saw my neigbour scavenging the sidewalk in front of her house. It wouldn’t be that big thing but in the next moment she made something that I did not except. She scavenged all the rubbish including plastic cups and paper in a big mass and then just under a car that parked by her house. She even knuckled down to take some paper from the sidewalk and to put them under the car too. I couldn’t believe my eyes, she really took all the effort and time to collect everything in order to hide them?! Please, the bins were next to her, behind the fence…


At moments like this I can’t be anything just disappointed in the human race.


I know that living in a big city with all the people from different countries makes the whole thing more complex. And maybe I am the „too good girl” but for me it is natural that I put my rubbish in the bin and not under a car. If I am walking in the city and there is no bin near me then I hold it in my hand or put it in my pocket or bag but I don’t threw it away. Sometimes I really feel like we are living on a dunghill. I see people walking and just throwing away their stuff. It is common that children do it and their parents next to them don’t say anything at all. It is naturally that their kids are like this. They are too busy to care or even worst they just don’t care because they don’t want to care. Maybe they like it to live on a dunghill, but it is not just about their children, about the bad and good behaviours, it is also about the earth.


I can absolutely agree with Wallace Stevens who once said: „The most beautiful thing in the world is, of course, the world itself.”. Exactly therefore it is important to look after it. Let’s start with our house, continue with our streets, the places where we go. The world is beautiful but we must do something for it. We can’t just scavenge everything under a car and act like it is not there anymore. Because the car will drive off and only our dirt will stay.


Written by Erika P.

Find her blog here and follow her on Twitter.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
bottom of page